Updated on 4 July 1996 by ausweb96@scu.edu.au

AusWeb96 - Education
Theme

Education and Learning Theme-Papers and Posters


Table of Contents


Theme Editor

The editor of the theme for full papers and poster sessions is Michael Nott, Director of the Science Multimedia Unit at the University of Melbourne. For further details, email Michael at aw96edu@scu.edu.au

Papers

Each paper is presented in a Session. At a later time the author(s) is available at one of the Sun Microsystems computers to answer individual questions and to demonstrate the project or paper.

Session E1, Monday 10:45am-12:30pm, Surfers Paradise 1

Chair: James Tauber

WWW as an Educational Support Medium: An Australian Case Study

Gregg Boalch boalch@ba1.curtin.edu.au
There is a brief overview of the paper and the author.
Follow up session on Sun workstation # 2 at 1:00-1:30pm, Monday

Indexing the Net - A review of indexing tools

Tony Barry, Joanna Richardson Tony.Barry@anu.edu.au
There is a brief overview of the paper and the authors.
Follow up session on Sun workstation # 3 at 1:00-1:30pm, Monday

World Wide Web Walkabout: a subject-oriented program for teaching and learning the Internet

Katie Wilson kwilson@laurel.ocs.mq.edu.au
There is a brief overview of the paper and the author.
Follow up session on Sun workstation # 4 at 1:00-1:30pm, Monday

Linking the data to develop knowledge: A neglected part of developing WEB-based university resources

Cris L Brack Cris.Brack@anu.edu.au
There is a brief overview of the paper and the author.
Follow up session on Sun workstation # 5 at 1:00-1:30pm, Monday

Session E2, Monday 2:30-3:30pm, Surfers Paradise 1

Chair: Jon Pearce

Teaching and learning on the web at Queensland University of Technology

Cheryl Gilbert cl.gilbert@qut.edu.au
There is a brief overview of the paper and the author.
Follow up session on Sun workstation # 1 at 3:40-4:00pm, Monday

Technological Convergence in Higher Education: Are the Educators Ready?

Stewart Adam, David Wilson stewarta@rmit.edu.au
There is a brief overview of the paper and the author.
Follow up session on Sun workstation # 2 at 3:40-4:00pm, Monday

Solving some problems of university education ....

David Jones d.jones@cqu.edu.au
There is a brief overview of the paper and the author.
Follow up session on Sun workstation # 3 at 3:40-4:00pm, Monday

Session E3, Monday 4:00-5:45pm, Surfers Paradise 1

Chair: Joanna Richardson

Lessons Learned in Publishing an Electronic Journal

Margaret Bearman, Adrian Vanzyl, Branko Cesnik, Angela Prior margaret.bearman@med.monash.edu.au
There is a brief overview of the paper and the authors.
Follow up session on Sun workstation # 5 at 10:20-10:45am, Tuesday

Journal of Australasian Graphics Imagery: An electronic journal for computer graphics and computer vision

Andrew Marriott, Joanne Ng raytrace@cs.curtin.edu.au
There is a brief overview of the paper and the author.
Follow up session on Sun workstation # 6 at 10:20-10:45am, Tuesday

Client-Side Execution of Programs

Jan Newmarch jan@ise.canberra.edu.au
Follow up session on Sun workstation # 7 at 10:20-10:45am, Tuesday

Network Performance - Implications On Networked Educational Delivery

Nguyen T-L, Jan Newmarch t-nguyen@adfa.oz.au
There is a brief overview of the paper and the author.
Follow up session on Sun workstation # 8 at 10:20-10:45am, Tuesday

World Wide Web and Secondary Students - A Link to their Future

Teresa Lynch, Mary Cranston t.lynch@cqu.edu.au
There is a brief overview of the paper and the authors.
Follow up session on Sun workstation # 9 at 10:20-10:45am, Tuesday

Session E4, Tuesday 10:45am-12:30pm, Surfers Paradise 1

Chair: Linda Rouse

Interactive Multimedia on the World Wide Web: Implementation and Implications for the Tertiary Education Sector

Ann Nguyen, William Tan, Lynne Kerzunovic A.Nguyen@eas.gu.edu.au
There is a brief overview of the paper and the authors.
Follow up session on Sun workstation # 7 at 1:15-1:45pm, Tuesday

The place of the WWW in an undergraduate multimedia degree program

Ron Oliver r.oliver@cowan.edu.au Arshad Omari a.omari@cowan.edu.au
Follow up session on Sun workstation # 8 at 1:15-1:45pm, Tuesday

An Experiment in Class Management Using the World-Wide Web

Curtis Dyreson curtis@cs.jcu.edu.au
There is a brief overview of the paper and the author.
Follow up session on Sun workstation # 9 at 1:15-1:45pm, Tuesday

Interactive features for HTML-based tutorials in distance learning programs

Mark Eaton eatonm@scis.nova.edu
There is a brief overview of the paper and the author.
Follow up session on Sun workstation # 10 at 1:15-1:45pm, Tuesday

Managing Online Learning

Russell Pennell r.pennell@nepean.uws.edu.au
There is a brief overview of the paper and the author.
Follow up session on Sun workstation # 11 at 1:15-1:45pm, Tuesday

Session E5, Tuesday 10:45am-12:30pm, Surfers Paradise 3

Chair: Gayle Paltridge

Student-Created Web Documents as Design Learning Environment

David Radcliffe d.radcliffe@mailbox.uq.oz.au
There is a brief overview of the paper and the author.
Follow up session on Sun workstation # 12 at 1:15-1:45pm, Tuesday

The key to collaborative teaching and learning on the Internet

Philip Rutherford Philip.Rutherford@tafensw.edu.au
Follow up session on Sun workstation # 13 at 1:15-1:45pm, Tuesday

Multiple Networks Within a Learning Organization

Brenda Stewart fiala003@maroon.tc.umn.edu
Follow up session on Sun workstation # 14 at 1:15-1:45pm, Tuesday

Disseminating research through the World Wide Web

David Sutton, Marius Dano ACDJS@FBM.pcmail.levels.unisa.edu.au
Follow up session on Sun # 16 at 1:15-1:45pm, Tuesday

Session E6, Tuesday 1:45pm-3:00pm, Surfers Paradise 1

Chair: Tony Barry

Hypertext and the Construction of Individual Narratives: Implications for socially constructed curriculum in primary schools

Colin Webb cwebb@kilo.uws.edu.au
Follow up session on Sun workstation # 5 at 3:10-3:30pm, Tuesday
There is a brief overview of the paper and the author.

Developing educational content for the Web: Issues and ideas

Martyn Wild m.wild@cowan.edu.au
Follow up session on Sun workstation # 6 at 3:10-3:30pm, Tuesday

Integrating the Web and the teaching of technology: Cases across two universities

John Eklund, Peter Eklund j.eklund@UTS.edu.au
There is a brief overview of the paper and the author.
Follow up session on Sun workstation # 7 at 3:10-3:30pm, Tuesday

Integrating WWW into an on-campus laboratory-based teaching program

Lisa Wise, Chris Hughes lisa.wise@sci.monash.edu.au
There is a brief overview of the paper and the author.
Follow up session on Sun workstation # 8 at 3:10-3:30pm, Tuesday


Posters

Using the Internet model to distribute 'The Internet'

Peter Batchelor, peterbat@rmit.edu.au Liddy Nevile liddy@rmit.edu.au
Presented on Sun workstation # 1 at 4:45-5:30pm, Sunday

Making the Familiar Unfamilar

Liddy Nevile liddy@rmit.edu.au
Presented on Sun workstation # 1 at 4:45-5:30pm, Sunday

Developing a Virtual Atlas on the World Wide Web

Shaun Ashdowne shaun@srl.rmit.edu.au
Presented on Sun workstation # 2 at 4:45-5:30pm, Sunday

Integration of the Internet into the professional development strategies at St Michael's Grammar School

Tony Carrucan carrutss@stmichaels.vic.edu.au
Presented on Sun workstation # 3 at 4:45-5:30pm, Sunday

TRAIN: The Australian Training Information Network

Barbara Ronald bronald@ozemail.com.au
Presented on Sun workstation # 4 at 4:45-5:30pm, Sunday

QUIK The Queensland University Internet Kit

Helen Darch H.DARCH@central1.library.uq.oz.au

Teaching Biodegradation via the World Wide Web

Lynda Ellis, Eva Young, Lawrence Wackett lynda@simvax.labmed.umn.edu
Presented on Sun workstation # 6 at 4:45-5:30pm, Sunday

KIDLINE: From Computer Conference to Web Site

Susan Eskridge, Fay Haisley seskridge@uop.edu
Presented on Sun workstation # 7 at 4:45-5:30pm, Sunday

REDD: an electronic document delivery model for Australia

Kingsley Gurney k.gurney@library.uq.edu.au
Presented on Sun workstation # 9 at 4:45-5:30pm, Sunday

Creating Effective Instructional Materials for the World Wide Web

Ron Oliver r.oliver@cowan.edu.au, Arshad Omari a.omari@cowan.edu.au and Jan Herrington j.herrington@cowan.edu.au
Presented on Sun workstation # 10 at 4:45-5:30pm, Sunday

Meeting Student Needs -- OLA on the Web

George Ivanoff george.ivanoff@ola.edu.au
There is a brief overview of the paper and the author.
Presented on Sun workstation # 11 at 4:45-5:30pm, Sunday

Turning the QEII around: Developing Internet and WWW skills and awareness at the University of Sydney

Richard Kerr R.Kerr@perspolicy.usyd.edu.au
Presented on Sun workstation # 12 at 4:45-5:30pm, Sunday

Creation of a Radiological Image Library

Ralph Lawson-Smith IRLS@imag.WH.SU.EDU.AU
Presented on Sun workstation # 13 at 4:45-5:30pm, Sunday

HTML: On and Off the Web

K Lynch klynch@casey.vic.edu.au
Presented on Sun workstation # 14 at 4:45-5:30pm, Sunday

Gateway to the Hispanic World (La puerta del mundo hispano): Creating a WWW page in the Spanish Classroom

Cristina Poyatos Matas C.Matas@hum.gu.edu.au
Presented on Sun workstation # 15 at 4:45-5:30pm, Sunday

oz-TeacherNet: Teachers helping teachers

Lindy McKeown L.Mckeown@qut.edu.au
Presented on Sun workstation # 16 at 4:45-5:30pm, Sunday

Legal Resources and the Internet

Alan Davidson Alan.Davidson@jcu.edu.au
Presented on Sun workstation # 18 at 4:45-5:30pm, Sunday

Development and delivery of a Graduate Certificate Open and Distance Learning via the World Wide Web

Peter Evans evansp@usq.edu.au
Presented on Sun workstation # 11 at 12:30-1:15pm, Tuesday

WCALive: The WWW as a program of events

Allan Palmer, P.H.V.Cumpston, R.D.M.Jones T.Palmer@mailbox.uq.edu.au
Presented on Sun workstation # 12 at 12:30-1:15pm, Tuesday

Interactive information literacy on the World Wide Web

Gillian Westera, John Frylinck Gillian@boris.curtin.edu.au
Presented on Sun workstation # 13 at 12:30-1:15pm, Tuesday

Success models for the integration of the Web in Primary Education

Seryn Wyld slwyld@acs.itd.uts.edu.au
Presented on Sun workstation # 14 at 12:30-1:15pm, Tuesday

Electronic Ephemera, a threat to structured on-line education

John Atkinson, Dick Spenneman jatkinson@CSU.edu.au
Presented on Sun workstation # 15 at at 12:30-1:15pm, Tuesday

Towards using WWW for teaching and learning

Meg O'Reilly moreilly@scu.edu.au
Presented on Sun workstation # 16 at at 12:30-1:15pm, Tuesday

Using the Web for Presentations

Jan Newmarch jan@ise.canberra.edu.au
Presented on Sun workstation # 17 at at 12:30-1:15pm, Tuesday

Improving the learning experiences of external students through the use of multimedia, the Web and tactile learning materials

Jeremy Pagram, Peter Cavenag j.pagram@cowan.edu.au
Presented on Sun workstation # 18 at at 12:30-1:15pm, Tuesday

Real-World Physics Via the Web

Jon Pearce, Michelle Livett, Minh Duc Do Jon_Pearce@muwayf.unimelb.edu.au
Presented on Sun workstation # 19 at at 12:30-1:15pm, Tuesday





Pointers to Other Papers and Posters

All Papers Other Themes AusWeb96
All papers & posters Business Technology Education Cultural AusWeb96 Home Page

Maintained by ausweb96@scu.edu.au
AusWeb96 - The Second Australian World Wide Web Conference, 7th to 9th of July 1996, at the Conrad Jupiters Hotel, Gold Coast, Australia. Contact: Ms Julie Burton, Norsearch Conference Services at Southern Cross University, PO Box 157, Lismore, NSW 2480, Australia. Phone (066) 20 3000 (From outside Australia +61 66 20 3000) Fax: (066) 22 1954 (From outside Australia +61 66 22 1954). Email: ausweb96@scu.edu.au.